Questions and Answers – More details about this blog…

Questions and Answers

Q: Did you start this blog to make new enemies, trolling about products or what?

A: I started this blog to help and being helped. If I help someone to achieve a better way of thinking related to a software, a product, a philosophy, etc., the improvements he/she achieves will help my life (as a user, a customer, a human being, etc.).
Although there is a really small chance to get any ‘direct’ profit from these things, I think that in long term it could help a lot for others.

Q: But you focuses on problems mostly. Isn’t that a negative way of improving anything?

A: No. Besides of adding something ‘new’, pointing on the existing negative things is the only way to improve anything. I’m not a salesman, not a guru, not a ‘love is the answer guy’.
I believe in improving things. Fixing things.
You don’t have to fix something, what works fine. Unfortunately the world is – how to say it nicely – ‘optimized’ for average people with average skills and thinking.
It results – as an example – that marketing features matters more than the real important ones; selling stuff with buzzwords, half-implemented and unnecessary crap. It damages everyone’s life, including me.
I recognized it and I try to do something against it.

Q: Are you paid by commercial software developers to write bad things about free and/or open-source apps?
A:
 No. I love good free/open-source apps far more then overpriced/monopolistic commercial alternatives.
But the keyword is ‘good’.
With an example: if I want to ride a horse, I cannot use a dead horse for that, even it is free. Most of the free/OSS apps are dead horses.

Q: Are you a linux-lover geek, who never used ‘X’, ‘Y’ or ‘Z’ pro commercial apps and stayed with freely available crap? Have you ever seen any ‘real’ projects at all?
A:
No. I’m not a geek and I don’t really like Linux (although I use it). I have (or had) access for pro-graded commercial apps, I also own licenses for a couple of them. But as a person who goes for efficiency, I will choose the free and open-source software if it is a real alternative. And – related to the projects question – yes, you would be surprised.

Q: So you think that you know things better then people who get big money for guessing/inventing/directing things in the industry/life and so on?
A:
First of all, the level of knowledge has nothing to do with salaries at all in general, so ‘big money’ is not an argue.
For example my knowledge is not degraded by the fact that occasionally I do it for free as a volunteer. Furthermore, I was never really motivated by the money; when I had more then I needed, I spent it on charity.

Secondly: the more I know about something I realize the increasing amount of things I don’t know. I respect knowledge; although I ‘m sure I had more biology studies then the gardener I met in Africa, he knew things far better related to his job. I have no problem with that, sometimes I learn new things from 14 years old kids on YouTube.

Thirdly: in a significant level of cases the answer is YES, I know things better.
It doesn’t mean that I cannot be wrong., it means that I can find weak spots in the area I have to focus. Not all of it, not all the times, but regularly faster than most of the people I worked with.
Another thought: actually any rational thinking person who sees trends could know things better then the most of the leaders of big companies; they simple don’t have any connection to the real world (God, I could tell you stories:)))
Also a thing I have to mention: mostly they have average skills in their profession/vision and extreme good skill in social relations. This guys are the proof why the ‘average’ cannot make the difference, this is also – partially – the reason why Apple became incredible successful over other IT companies.

PS: I don’t like Apple, I don’t like SJ, but I respect respectable things.

Q: So you think, that you know things better then the complete user base of a software or the developers who developed it for free and open source?
A: It is the same thing. Being a user itself doesn’t mean anything if the person is blinded by her/his habits or simple just has a ‘fanboy’ attitude.
Being a developer doesn’t mean anything either. Being a good programmer means being good at programming. It has nothing to do with GUI design, psychological background of GUI expectations, not even being good in another programming language.
People got used to things.
Sometimes not to the best things (remember: one button mouse for Apple computers). The difference between a good app/product/whatever and a bad one, that you really quickly realize that working with the good one is better. With an example: the theoretical logic of Blender ‘windows customization’ is far superior compared to 3D Max (I’m talking about creating your ‘personalized screen’).  The interpretation of the full GUI – and now I’m talking in general – is terrible (slow, not intuitive, doesn’t teach the user, limited and strange).

Q: Your grammar is far from perfect.
A:
I know. Maybe you read it formerly, I’m not a native English speaker. In real life situations it is not an issue usually (I worked a lot together with people from totally different countries), but this is the first time I make a blog in English. Anyways, I’m working on it, but it will never be perfect, I focus on more important things. Feel free to correct my mistakes, I do my best to learn from them. Thanks.

Q: I cannot see my comments.
A: Sorry, but probably you have to wait. I check the comments before appearing. If it contains trolling, flaming, swearing, it will not go through. I don’t believe in democracy in these things.

