House of joy or house of pain? – Meet Blender 3D!

It is really rare when I cannot make a ‘fast’ decision related to any softwares.
My goals and expectations are really clearly defined (new article is coming soon), I saw several implementations for the features and tools, so why is it hard?
Because in many cases Blender is something different.
It contains fantastic features not available in a commercial package like Max and misses basic features are flawlessly integrated into packages for 30 USD.

I think this is the 7th occasion when I installed Blender on my computer; in 6 times I deleted it after one a few hours because of the terrible GUI.

The process was something like this all the time:

1. I saw on the net that Blender people made something cool again (check the links at the bottom).
2. I installed Blender with great expectations.
3. I tried to do something very basic according to my work-flow.
4. I realized that I need a tutorial for a very basic feature.
5. I read a few tutorials, because I realized that I need more then one to make something done, what was a 1-2 click process in other apps.
6. I had no feeling of success and I got frustrated, while I used the F-word a lot.
7. I gave it up and went back to my primary app.

So, let’s see what happened here exactly:

1. Blender lost a user : that’s me.
2. Blender lost mostly all of the potential users I know personally in my profession (when they ask me that if Blender worth a try, I say ‘Yes, if it is a spare-time activity; NO, if you want to earn money with it as a main app).
3. With losing us (I mean most of the people who lives from paid archviz),  Blender remains mainly a ‘hobby-tool’ for visualisation or a choice for visualisers who only participate in small projects.

Why?
Because for more features, better features it should  have a bigger user base among pros.
Let me to say an example: you can drive a nail with a stone, a brick, some other metal tools. That is the ‘practical’ intelligence to solve a task.
But when you live from this – ’cause you are a carpenter or something like that – you will use a hammer. Because that is the proper tool for the task.
Does Blender have any hammer-like tools for archviz?
No.
Is Blender capable to be a hammer-like tool with just some small improvements?
Definitely. And integrating/implementing these tools would make Blender more usable for all the users, not just for archviz guys.

That is why I started to write these articles about Blender.
I don’t hate Blender: I would like to replace my primary app with Blender. But – and it will sound familiar unfortunately: ‘Blender isn’t there yet’.

To make my part for the Blender community, I decided to write a series of articles for people who would like to move from Max to Blender, with all the tips and workarounds.
Any time you have a better work-flow, I ask you to share it with me. I want to do my best to make this change easier.
I’m a beginner in Blender; it means I know what these people have to face with as beginners. It is a good thing: things are not obvious for me.

I hope Blender will be a great tool and a real alternative to commercial packages in the close future.
I can say, now it is a wonderful complementary tool.

Some recommended Blender short films:



Some recommended Blender image galleries/artblogs (archviz):

Krzysztof Nowacki
http://www.gucias.republika.pl/katalog/katalogen.html

Pixel3D:
http://pixel3d.in/

Rexnante M. Martinez:
http://reynantem.blogspot.nl/

Yafaray engine
gallery (free engine for Blender):
http://www.yafaray.org/gallery?g2_itemId=39

Yorik’s site:
http://yorik.uncreated.net/

